So often I sit down and talk to clients and one of the first things I ask is “what are you trying to achieve?”. Most often the answer is weight loss. The thing about that answer is that it is meaningless. If weight loss was that important to you it would have happened long ago. Now don’t get me wrong, weight loss probably is A goal, but it’s not THE goal.

The real goal is usually something along the lines of:

  • run a marathon
  • feel sexy for my spouse
  • feel confident in my body
  • keep up with my grandkids
  • live longer
  • reduce chronic pain

All of these things can be achieved THROUGH weight loss, yet weight loss is not the goal, it is the vehicle. If you want to make any sort of lasting change in your physical or mental well being you need to really think about WHY you want to lose weight. THEN comes the HOW.

If you need any help figuring out your why drop me a line here and we can figure it out.

